lincoln forums   lincoln forum

Lincoln Forum: 97 town car amplifier wiring diagram?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Remove this ad
    Total newbie here, so sorry if this is misplaced

just bought a 1997 Town Car Cartier with a blown OEM subwoofer, my buddy and i detached the factory amp and wired a 10" to it which will do for now (guy who had it before me removed sub/amp assembly, and the car had absolutely NO bass tone the audio was completely flat) but i was wanting to wire up an aftermarket amp to run 2 12" subs... My step dad said he could do it, but we need to know which wires are what on the factory connectors for the amplifier. Don't worry, I'm not going to throw ridiculous rims and such on it, i just want a nice sound system, which leads to another question: will the factory head unit and wiring be able to support an aftermarket amp?(dont plan to spend a ton and deal with the nightmare i heard these radios are to replace... besides, i like my wheel controls ) and if so, what are the limitations?

;tldr- i need the wiring diagram for the amplifier connectors or someone who can tell me what each wire is(on amp connectors), is it possible to swap the amp?, and if so what are my limits? (powerwise)

-thanks

Hi Dakota,

If the factory sub enclosure is still in the car, you can get an aftermarket replacement subwoofer that will fit the opening for about $20. No mess, no fuss.

I will have to consult my factory service manual at home to give you the wiring diagram.

The factory wiring will not support aftermarket subs pushing a lot of power. You may be able to use one of the wires to the factory sub amp as a remote turn-on wire and then run a beefy power line straight up to the battery to use with an aftermarket amp.

Stay tuned,

Nick
    Nick

1967 Lincoln Continental convertible - sold
    1996 Lincoln Town Car Diamond Anniversary - traded
    1996 Lincoln Town Car Signature - sold
    1999 Ford F-150 Lariat 4x4 Supercab 5.4L - mine